Reflection

Day 25&26: Almost there

Practise makes perfect. After three tries of explaining essay structure, I am getting very close. I felt a bit sorry for the guinea pigs in the progress, but practicum is all about learning and now it is almost over.

It is interesting to see the attitude of the students change, now that the exams are on. They are more serious than the start of my practicum. Now, I feel that after last week, I became a bit insecure. The content of my lessons was not as much on point as I wished. This week, I had only one try to revenge myself and I did to the best of my capability.

Last week, I was just started to revise some of my material, including my Essay Structure power points. After two attempts, I still was not happy with the way my class responded to it. So I decided to apply the feedback and eventually told my mentor about it. She then responded that I should send it to her. She was happy and told me to use it my ‘pretty much final’ lesson.

There are still a couple of amendments to be made, but the presentation now is ready for whenever I have to teach Essay Structure again. One of the things, I have learned here is to create transferable material. This way, you do not have to create new material for every single class so this presentation will stay with me for the rest of my career.

That may be a bit of an exaggeration, but you understand what I mean.

Leave a Reply

